Alcohol

Alcohol consumption is deeply rooted in our culture and considered normal in many circumstances. However, alcohol has a high potential for addiction – the drinking habit of every fifth adult is risky. If alcohol is consumed excessively, it can harm almost every organ in the body. In addition to the physical effects, alcohol consumption is often accompanied by mental, social or work-related problems.

If you are finding it hard to control or reduce your alcohol intake, it is advisable to seek professional help. As soon as you are physically or mentally used to it, dependence can develop, which is a serious illness and should be treated as soon as possible.

You will be accompanied respectfully towards a better quality of life and better health by our knowledgeable therapists and physicians. Treatment will be individually tailored to your needs.

This is how we support you:

  • addiction treatment: information, assessment and advice, support controlling or reducing consumption, outpatient detox, aftercare and relapse prevention
  • psychiatry and psychotherapy: mental health assessment and psychiatric treatment
  • GP services: general internal medicine, infectiology
  • social care: support in everyday life, e.g. dealing with problems in the social environment, at work, at school or in an apprenticeship, with finances or with the authorities and landlords
  • outpatient/legal measures to reinstate a driving licence or to comply with a court order

Contact

Would you like to get in touch or do you have any questions regarding treatment? We are there for you, with straightforward and confidential help.

+41 58 360 50 00
You can contact us from Monday to Friday from 8am to 6pm.
mail

Write to us:

Frequently asked questions

Am I drinking too much?

minus
minus

The World Health Organisation recommends a maximum amount of 0.5 to 0.6 litres of beer or 0.5 to 0.3 litres of wine per day for men, and half these amounts for women. Furthermore, to prevent physical dependence from developing, it is advisable to have at least two alcohol-free days per week.

If you are a woman, you are likely to feel the effects of alcohol more quickly. Alcohol is held in body water, not body fat. A female body has a lower percentage of water and a higher percentage of fat than a male body. That means the alcohol is more concentrated in a woman’s body. Adolescents too are more susceptible to the harmful effects of alcohol.

At what stage your alcohol consumption is starting to be harmful also depends on your age and your general state of health. The use of additional substances plays an important role as well.

Continued regular alcohol consumption is more likely to develop into alcohol dependence than ‘binge drinking’, when every two weeks or more, five or more units are drunk in a short space of time. However, this is no less dangerous and harms the body in similar ways.

Links

Alkohol

Alkohol hat in unserer Kultur seinen festen Platz und gehört für viele einfach dazu. Doch das Suchtpotenzial ist hoch – jeder fünfte Erwachsene weist ein risikoreiches Trinkverhalten auf. Bei übermässigem Konsum kann Alkohol fast jedes Organ schädigen. Nebst den körperlichen Auswirkungen geht der Alkoholkonsum häufig auch mit psychischen, sozialen oder beruflichen Beeinträchtigungen einher.

Fällt es Ihnen schwer, Ihren Alkoholkonsum zu kontrollieren oder zu beschränken, ist professionelle Unterstützung ratsam. Denn bei körperlicher und psychischer Gewöhnung an Alkohol kann sich eine Abhängigkeit entwickeln – eine ernstzunehmende Erkrankung, die möglichst frühzeitig behandelt werden sollte.

Auf Ihrem Weg zu mehr Lebensqualität und Gesundheit werden Sie von unseren Therapeuten und Ärzten fachkundig und respektvoll begleitet. Sie erhalten eine individuelle und auf Ihre persönlichen Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Behandlung.

Alkohol

So unterstützen wir Sie:

Kontakt

Möchten Sie uns kennenlernen oder haben Sie Fragen zur Behandlung? Wir sind für Sie da, unkompliziert und vertraulich.

phone
058 360 50 00
Sie erreichen uns von Montag bis Freitag von 8 bis 18 Uhr.
mail

Schreiben Sie uns:

Häufige Fragen

Ist mein Alkoholkonsum problematisch?

minus
minus

Die WHO empfiehlt für Männer maximal 0,5 bis 0,6 Liter Bier oder 0,25 bis 0,3 Liter Wein pro Tag, für Frauen gilt die Hälfte. An mindestens zwei Tagen pro Woche sollte zudem eine Alkoholpause eingelegt werden, damit keine körperliche Abhängigkeit entsteht.

Da Frauen im Verhältnis zu ihrem Gewicht mehr Körperfett und weniger Wasser haben und sich Alkohol besser in Wasser löst als in Fett, steigt die Alkoholkonzentration im Blut von Frauen schneller an. Auch Jugendliche vertragen Alkohol weniger gut und sind den schädigenden Einflüssen stärker ausgesetzt.

Ab wann Alkoholkonsum schädlich ist, hängt dabei auch vom Alter und generellen Gesundheitszustand einer Person ab. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt ausserdem, ob zusätzlich zum Alkohol noch andere Substanzen konsumiert werden.

Anhaltender regelmässiger Alkoholkonsum führt zwar öfters in eine Abhängigkeit, das sogenannte «binge drinking» oder Rauschtrinken ist aber nicht weniger gefährlich und schädigt den Körper in vergleichbarer Weise. Dabei werden alle zwei Wochen oder häufiger in kurzer Zeit 5 oder mehr Standardgetränke getrunken.